DMV - Frequently Asked QuestionsThe following section answers some of our customer's frequently asked questions.
Motor Vehicle Fees - Effective October 1st 2015
Registration - Cars
|Renewals (yearly)Cars, SUV's, Station wagons, minivans, small trucks||$40||Late Renewal||$20|
|Temporary Tag||$20||Temporary Permit||$20|
|Handicapped Placard||No Charge||Vanity Plate (yearly)||$40|
|Environmental Specialty Plate (one time fee)Lighthouse Plate or Duck Plate||$50||Farmland Preservation Specialty Plate orMarine Mammal Plate(one time fee)||$50|
|Animal Welfare Specialty Plate(one time fee)||$50||Stop Child Abuse Plate Intial plate fee is $40 then costs $40 a year on top of registration fees||$50|
|Delaware Equine Council(one time fee)||$50||Keep Delaware Beautiful (one time fee)||$50|
|Fresh Water Fish Plate(one time fee)||$95||Salt Water Fishing Plate||$95|
|Farm Trucks - 5,000 pounds or less||$40||Greater than 5,000 pounds (*Price for each 1,000 pounds over 5,000)||$3.80|
|Recreational Vehicles - 5,000 pounds or less||$40||Greater than 5,000 pounds (*Price for each 1,000 pounds over 5,000)||$6.40|
|Trailers - 1,000 pounds||$15||3,000 to 5,000 pounds||$40|
|Trailers - 2,000 pounds||$20||For each 1,000 pounds over 5,000 pounds||$18|
|Commercial Vehicles - 5,000 pounds or less||$40||Commercial Vehicles - for each 1,000 pounds over5,000 pounds||$18|
|License Plate with Sticker||$10||License Plate without Sticker||$5|
|Sticker||$5||Dealer License Plate||$10|
|Registration Card||$10||Environmental/Animal Plate||$10|
|Sample License Plate||$6|
|Title with Lien||$55||Title without Lien||$35|
|Duplicate Title||$50||Change Tag Fee (Service Fee)||$15|
|Corrected Title with Lien||$55||Corrected Title without Lien||$35|
|Vehicle Record||$25||Certified Vehicle Affidavit||$30|
|Retain Tag Fee||$20||Switch Tag Fee (per tag & title)||$20|
|Late Fee ( charged 30 days after a private sale and 60 days after sale by Delaware Dealer)||$35|
|Document Fee:4.25 % of purchase price or NADA book value, whichever is greater. Minimum document fee is $8.00. 3.75 % for Mobile Homes.|
|Penalty Fee for Uninsured Motorist (*PLUS $5.00 per day after the 31st day from the mailing date of notice)||$100*|
|Vehicle Registration Reinstatement||$50||DL Suspension Reinstatement||$50|
|Class D (5 year)||$25||Renewal Class D (5 year)||$25|
|Class D (8 year)||$40||Renewal Class D (8 year)||$40|
|Renewal Permanent Class (5 YR)||$15||CDL (5 year)||$30|
|Renewal Permanent Class (8 YR)||$24||CDL (8 year)||$48|
|CDL each Additional Endorsement||$5||Non-CDL Class A/B (5 year)||$25|
|Non-CDL Class A/B (8 year)||$40|
|Motorcycle Endorsement (5yr)||$8||Taxi Endorsement||$3|
|Motorcycle Endorsement (8yr)||$12|
|Late Renewal Fee||$10||Duplicate License||$20|
|Change of Name||$1.15||Change of Address||No Charge|
|Phote Identification Card||$20||Duplicate Photo ID Card||$5|
|Drivers License Record||$25||Certified DL Affidavit||$30|
|DL Suspension||$50||DL Revocation Reinstatement||$200|
“New Vehicle” Any vehicle that is submitted with a Manufacturers Certificate of Origin, and has never been titled or registered is considered new.
"Used vehicle" includes every motor vehicle or OHV which has been sold, bargained, exchanged, given away or title transferred from the person who first acquired it from the manufacturer or importer, dealer or agent of the manufacturer or importer and so used as to have become what is commonly known as "secondhand" within the ordinary meaning thereof.
“Rebuilt Salvage” is a vehicle that has been deemed a total loss from an insurance company and has been repaired, taken thru an Auto Theft Unit for inspection and given the Brand of Rebuilt Salvage from Auto Theft. A dealer or agent of a dealer must disclose to a buyer if the vehicle title has been branded "reconstructed", "flood damaged", "salvage" or was a "taxi". The buyer(s) shall acknowledge the disclosure as described in this paragraph by signing a disclosure statement which has been approved by the Division of Motor Vehicles and is provided by the dealership. A copy of the disclosure statement shall be provided to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles with the title application. In the absence of any disclosure statement, the contract may be rescinded at any time by the buyer and the dealer shall provide a full and complete refund to the buyer of all purchase moneys, including interest paid, plus all fees paid. Disclosure shall not prevent any person from otherwise bringing any action under any law for a failure to disclose material information concerning the condition or prior use of any vehicle.
C – Commercial – used on trucks and vans
CL – Commercial- used on trucks and vans
CT – Construction Tag –issued to a licensed business, must provide liability insurance for the company and can go on equipment owned by the company such as construction equipment ie back hoes, well diggers and such.
FT - Farm Truck- Farm truck license plates (“FT” tags):
a. Farmers may qualify for the reduced registration fee for “FT” license tags if they derive at least $1,000.00 of their annual income from the operation of their farm and they own or rent at least 10 acres which is actively used in the farming operation from which they derive that income.
b. Any vehicle upon which an “FT” license tag is affixed must be used exclusively in the operation of a farm.
c. Farmers shall not hire or rent the farm truck, or permit a farm truck to be used for hauling merchandise, farm products, or other items whatsoever under rent, hire, or for pay.
d. Farmers shall not use any vehicle upon which an “FT” license tag is affixed for any use except in the operation of a farm owned or rented by the registered owner of such vehicle or in aid of and assistance to another farmer for harvest purposes.
FV – Farm Vehicle-Any vehicle or trailer upon which a "Farm Vehicle" “FV” tag is affixed must be used exclusively in the operation of a farm, or for personal use other than non-farming commercial use.Vehicle with a FV tag cannot go more than 20 miles from the farm.
LX – Limousine - 'Limousine' is a self-propelled motor vehicle having a passenger capacity, exclusive of driver, of 18 persons or less engaged in the transportation with a driver for hire of persons and their accompanying property over regular or irregular routes between two termini at least one of which is fixed and which motor vehicle is not equipped with a taxi meter as a means of computing the rate, fare or compensation to be charged for such transportation, but excluding, however, carpools, vanpools and public agency vehicles not operated as a commercial venture, and ambulances, vehicles used exclusively for the transportation of decedents and persons participating in funeral services, vehicles used solely to provide free transportation services for customers of the business establishment operating said vehicles, and rental or leased vehicles which rental or lease does not include a driver, provided, however, that no motor vehicle excluded under this definition shall be used on a for-hire basis with a driver except as authorized by this Chapter
MC – Motorcycle - "Motorcycle" includes every motor vehicle designed to travel on not more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground, except any such vehicle as may be included within the definition of "auto cycle" or "tractor" and excepting electric personal assistive mobility device (EPAMD)
MH – Mobile Home - "Mobile home" is a structure transportable in 1 or more sections, which in the traveling mode is 8 body feet or more in width or 40 body feet or more in length, or when erected on-site, is more than 400 square feet, and which is built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling with or without a permanent foundation when connected to the required utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating and air conditioning. The structure must be constructed in accordance with construction requirements promulgated by the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
MP – Moped - "Moped" shall mean a pedal or non-pedal bicycle having 2 tandem wheels, either of which is 10 inches or more in maximum diameter, and having an internal combustion motor characterized in that the maximum piston displacement is less than 55 cc, or an electric motor rated between 751 watts and 2,000 watts.
PC – Passenger Carrier usually placed on SUV’s, minivans, station wagons, and anything being registered at 7,000 pounds or less.
PV – Pleasure Vehicle (all-numeric) placed on cars or any vehicle being registered at 7,000 pounds or less.
RT- Recreational Trailer "Recreational trailer" includes every trailer which weighs more than 5,000 pounds, is designed to provide temporary living quarters and which is built into and is an integral part of, or permanently attached to, a trailer chassis. The trailer must contain permanently installed independent life support systems which meet the ANSI/NFPA 501 C Standard [ANSI A119.2/NFPA 501C], and provide at least 4 of the following facilities: Cooking facilities; refrigeration or ice box; self-contained toilet; heating and/or air conditioning; a portable water supply system, including a faucet and sink; separate 110-125 volt electrical power supply; or an LP-gas supply.
RV – Recreational Vehicle - "Recreational vehicle" includes every motor vehicle used for temporary human living quarters, not the residence of the owner or occupant, and used for recreational or vacation activities, including motor homes, self-propelled campers and other motor vehicles with permanently attached camper components. Recreational vehicle may also include every van which is used primarily for personal pleasure and not for commercial use, regardless of the equipment or furnishings contained within such van.
SR - A "street rod" shall mean a vehicle, the body and frame of which were manufactured prior to the year 1970 and which has been modified for safe road use, or a kit car which resembles that of an original pre 1970 vehicle and has also been modified for safe road use. For the purposes of this section "modified" means, but is not limited to, a substantial and material alteration, or replacement of the engine, drive-train, suspension or brake system or alteration of the body which may be chopped, channeled, sectioned, filled or otherwise changed dimensionally from the original manufactured body.
T – Trailer - "Trailer" includes a mobile home, park trailer, travel trailer, house trailer, office trailer, camping trailer or any vehicle without motive power designed to carry property or passengers wholly on its own structure and to be drawn by a motor vehicle.
TX – Taxi- 'Taxicab' means any self-propelled motor vehicle having a passenger capacity exclusive of driver of 11 persons or less engaged in the transportation with a driver for hire of persons and their accompanying property, or of small packages on isolated occasions and not as part of regular operations, over irregular routes between termini which are not fixed, provided, however, that the utilization of taxicab stands or holding points shall not constitute fixed termini, and excluding, however, carpools, vanpools and public agency vehicles not operated as a commercial venture, and ambulances, vehicles used exclusively for the transportation of decedents and persons participating in funeral services, vehicles used solely to provide free transportation services for customers of the business establishment operating said vehicles, and rental or leased vehicles which rental or lease does not include a driver, provided, however, that no motor vehicle excluded under this definition shall be used on a for-hire basis with a driver except as authorized by Chapter 21.
Document Fee is covered in Delaware Code, Title 30 chapter 30 § 3002
Document Fee is charged at the time of titling.
The Document fee imposed herein shall be computed as follows:
(1) Where the purchase price is less than $400, there shall be a uniformrate of $8:00;
(2) Where the purchase price is $400 or more, up to and including $500, the document fee shall be $13.75; (3) The document fee payable thereafter shall increase in increments of $4.25 per each additional $100 of purchase price or any fraction thereof, rounded to the nearest dollar; except that the document fee thereafter for mobile homes shall increase in increaments of $3.75 per each additional $100 of purchase price or any fraction thereof, rounded to the nearest dollar.
There is imposed upon the sale,transfer or registration of any new or used motor vehicle, truck tractor, trailer or motorcycle in this State a motor vehicle document fee, which fee is to be paid by the owner and shall be collected by the Division of Motor Vehicles for deposit to the credit of the Transportation Trust Fund pursuant to Chapter 14 of Title 2, as amended, and any resolution or agreement of the Delaware Transportation Authority, authorizing the issuance of bonds to finance the costs of transportation facilities described in said title, to be used to finance the costs of roads, highways and other transportation facilities and not to defray the expenses and obligations of the general government of the State.
Documentation fees must be in accordance with 21 Del.C. §6305 and 30 Del.C. §3001(5).
The dealerships are responsible for calculating documentation fees on the price of the vehicles minus the trade-in credit or any allowance, or credit against the purchase price granted by the manufacturer.
§ 6305. Bill of Sale. Every motor vehicle dealer shall complete, in duplicate, a bill of sale for each sale or exchange of a motor vehicle. The original shall be retained for a period of 5 years. A duplicate copy shall be delivered to the purchaser at the time of sale or exchange. The bill of sale shall be signed by both buyer and seller.
A bill of sale shall include the following:
(1) The name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was sold or traded;
(2) The date of the sale or trade;
(3) The name and address of the motor vehicle dealer selling or trading the vehicle;
(4) The make, model, year, vehicle identification number, and body style of the vehicle;
(5) The sale price of the vehicle;
(6) Th e amount of any deposit made by the buyer;
(7) A description of any Delaware-titled vehicle used as a trade-in and the amount credited to the buyer for the trade-in;
(8) The amount of the document fee, title fee, registration fee, or any other fee for which the buyer is responsible, and the dealer has collected; each fee shall be individually listed and identified; and
(9) The amount of any balance due at settlement.
§ 3001. Definitions.
(5) “Purchase price” means the value or any other consideration given by the owner to the seller for a motor vehicle; where trade-ins or allowances are given in conjunction with the purchase of any motor vehicle, the purchase price shall be the gross purchase price less any trade-in or allowance given by the seller of the motor vehicle to the owner of the motor vehicle; except that where a motor vehicle having been bought and registered outside the State and not subject to the limitation of
§ 3002(a)(4) of this title is first registered and titled in this State, “purchase price” shall mean the fair market value as of the date of such titling and registration.
If the owner made no trade-in in conjunction with the purchase of any motor vehicle or trailer but 60 days prior to or subsequent to the date on which a certificate of title was issued in Delaware on such vehicle such owner sold privately the previously owned vehicle, credit shall be given in the same amount on the document fee as if the owner had made a trade-in of such previously owned vehicle in connection with the purchase of another vehicle. Credit shall be given for only 1 motor vehicle or trailer per application. Application for such credit in event of a prior sale shall be made at the time application is made for title of the purchased vehicle. In the event of a subsequent sale, an application for such credit shall be made not later than 15 calendar days after such sale in person or by registered mail to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Proof of prior ownership and the amount of sale shall be furnished at the time the owner claims credit pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
|Plate Description||Image Preview|
|ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA AKA|
|ALPHA PHI ALPHA APA|
|AMERICAN LEGION AL|
|ATTACK ADDICTION WE|
|BUFFALO SOLDIERS BUF|
|CAESAR RODNEY SCHOOLCR|
|CAPE HENLOPEN HIGH CH|
|CARAVEL ACADEMY CA|
|CIVIL AIR PATROL CAP|
|COMBAT INFANTRY BDGECIB|
|CONRAD HIGH SCHOOL CHS|
|CREDIT UNION CU|
|DE ASSOC OF REALTOR DAR|
|DE STATE POLICE(DSP)ST|
|DEL CORRECTIONAL OFFLE|
|DEL MOBILE SURF FISHDMS|
|DEL SENIOR OLYMPICS DSO|
|DELAWARE STATE UNIV DSU|
|DELAWARE TECH DT|
|DELAWARE VETERAN DV|
|DELMAR HIGH SCHOOL DS|
|DELTA SIGMA THETA DST|
|DELTA WATER FOWL DW|
|DISABLED VETERAN DAV|
|DISABLED VETERAN HP DAV|
|DOVER CHIEFS GROUP DCG|
|DOVER HIGH SCHOOL DHS|
|DUCKS UNLIMITED DU|
|EASTERN STAR PHA ES|
|ELKS LODGE ELK|
|FARM BUREAU FB|
|FELTON HIGH SCHOOL FHS|
|FRATERNAL ORDER POLIFOP|
|GOLD STAR FAMILY GS|
|GOLDEY BEACOM COLLEGGBC|
|GROOVE PHI SOCIAL FEG|
|HANDICAPPED PERSON HP|
|HARRINGTON HS ALUMNIHHS|
|HONORING VETERANS HV|
|JOHN HOPKINS UNIV JHU|
|KAPPA ALPH PSI K|
|KINGS PORT MERCHANT KP|
|KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS KC|
|KOREAN WAR VETERAN KWV|
|LADIES AUXILLARY LA Y|
|LIONS CLUB LC|
|LOYAL ORDER MOOSE LM|
|MARINE CORP MCL|
|MASONIC MASON MM|
|MILITARY VETERAN MV|
|MISSING IN ACTION MIA|
|NANTICOKE INDIAN ASCNIA|
|NATIONAL GUARD NG|
|NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCNRA|
|NCC RETIRED POLICE CP|
|NEWARK HIGH SCHOOL NHS|
|NOTRE DAME ND|
|NUR SHRINE NUR|
|OHIO STATE UNIV OSU|
|OMEGA PSI PHI FRATERQUE|
|OPER IRAQI FREEDOM OIF|
|OPERATION DESERT ODS|
|ORDER EASTERN STAR OES|
|PEARL HARBOR SURV PHS|
|PENN STATE UNIV PS|
|PERDUE UNIV ALUMNI P|
|PHI BETA SIGMA PBS|
|PRINCE HALL AFFIL PHA|
|PRISONER OF WAR POW|
|PURPLE HEART PH|
|RESERVED FORCES RF|
|RET STATE LIGISLATORRSL|
|RETIRED STATE POLICESP|
|SAINT JOSEPHS UNIV SJ|
|SALESIANUM SCH ALUMNSA|
|SOUTHERN DE STR ROD CC|
|ST. MARK'S HIGH SCH SM|
|STANDARD BREEDERS OWSOA|
|SUBMARINE SERVICE SS|
|TELEPHONE PIONEERS TP|
|TEMPLE UNIVERSITY TU|
|UNITED AUTO WORKERS UAW|
|UNIV OF MICHIGAN UM|
|UNIV OF PENNSYLVANIAUP|
|UNIVERSITY DELAWARE UD|
|VETERANS FOREIGN WARVFW|
|VIETNAM VETERANS VV|
|VILLANOVA UNIV VU|
|VIRGINIA TECH VT|
|VOLUNTEER FIREMEN VF Y|
|WESLEY COLLEGE W|
|WEST VIRGINIA UNIV WVU|
|WILD TURKEY WT|
|WILM FIRE DEPT WFD|
|WILM POLICE DEPT WPD|
|WILMINGTON COLLEGE WC|
|WILMINGTON UNIV WU|
|WOMEN MILITARY SRVC WMS|
|WORLD WAR II VETS WWI|
|ZETA PHI BETA Z|
The attached “NEW” MV558 form - for dealers to view only (see attached).